Oracle PeopleSoft flaw chained from three bugs, exploited by ShinyHunters
Attackers can trick Oracle PeopleSoft into reaching its own hidden admin area, which can let them take control of the system. A criminal group called ShinyHunters has been using it since May.
| Severity | CriticalVulnerability |
|---|---|
| Being exploited? | ReportedBy The Hacker News, not officially confirmed yet |
| Fix available? | YesPatches released by Oracle in June under CVE-2026-35273 (specific fixed versions not stated in the source material) · since 28 Oct 2026 |
| How sure is this? | 1 source, unconfirmedOnly one publisher so far, details may change |
How the attack works simplified
- 1Attacker sends requestCrafted request sent to PeopleSoft
- 2SSRF triggeredServer is tricked into requesting itself
- 3Loopback trustedPeopleSoft trusts its own loopback address
- 4Internal interface reachedManagement interface becomes accessible
- ResultAttacker reaches internal management functions
What happened
A critical Oracle PeopleSoft vulnerability, tracked as CVE-2026-35273, is actually three chained flaws. The root is a server-side request forgery (SSRF) that reaches an internal management interface because PeopleSoft trusts its own loopback address.
Are you affected?
You are affected if you run Oracle PeopleSoft with the unpatched versions that predate Oracle's June patch.
Oracle PeopleSoft (specific versions not stated in the source material)
What to do
- Confirm your PeopleSoft version and apply Oracle's June 2026 patch for CVE-2026-35273
- Review PeopleSoft logs since May 2026 for unusual internal requests or access to management interfaces
- Restrict network access to PeopleSoft internal management interfaces
Timeline
- 28 Oct 2026, 06:04 UTCPublicly disclosed
- 28 Oct 2026, 06:04 UTCReported by The Hacker News · The Hacker News
- 28 Oct 2026, 07:15 UTCPicked up by Zero Radar
Sources 1 report, oldest first
Security press established security newsrooms
- ShinyHunters-Exploited Oracle PeopleSoft Zero-Day Turns Out to Be Three Chained FlawsThe Hacker News · 28 Oct 2026, 06:04 UTC
Technical details
- ID
- CVE-2026-35273
- EPSS
- 97% chance of exploitation within 30 days
- Disclosed
- 28 Oct 2026, 06:04 UTC
- On Zero Radar
- 28 Oct 2026, 07:15 UTC (1 h after disclosure)
- Last change
- 28 Oct 2026, 07:15 UTC
The plain-language parts and the attack diagram were written by an AI model (anthropic/claude-haiku-5.5) from the sources above. Facts like versions, exploitation and dates come from the sources themselves. How Zero Radar works