Axis Camera Station Pro backups expose stored camera credentials
Old database backups of Axis Camera Station Pro can be copied and read offline, which could reveal the passwords it stores for your cameras. Anyone who gets those backup files could potentially log into your cameras.
| Severity | HighCVSS 7.1 of 10 |
|---|---|
| Being exploited? | UnclearNo reports either way yet |
| Fix available? | YesUpdate AXIS Camera Station Pro to the patched version (exact version number not stated in the material). · since 29 Oct 2026 |
| How sure is this? | Official, 2 sourcesBacked by an official source |
How the attack works simplified
- 1Attacker gets backupCopies an old backup file offline
- 2Backup decryptedStored credentials can be recovered
- 3Cameras exposedCamera logins become known to attacker
- ResultAttacker gains access to camera credentials
What happened
Database backups created by AXIS Camera Station Pro before the patched version remain vulnerable to offline attacks, exposing stored credentials. The software also creates an extra recovery backup when the update is applied, which is also vulnerable.
Are you affected?
You are affected if you run AXIS Camera Station Pro on a version earlier than the patched release and have backups created with it.
AXIS Camera Station Pro, versions prior to the patched version (exact version numbers not stated in the material); backups created with those versions, including the automatic recovery backup made during the update.
What to do
- Update AXIS Camera Station Pro to the patched version.
- Delete all old database backups, including the extra recovery backup created during the update.
- Change the credentials stored in AXIS Camera Station Pro, including your camera passwords.
Timeline
Sources 2 reports, oldest first
Official vendor, government CERT or advisory database
- CVE-2026-63286NVD · 28 Oct 2026, 07:16 UTC
Community discussion sites, treat with care
- Axis Camera Station Deep-Dive: Unauth RCE to Decrypting Every Camera Credential (CVE-2025-30026/30023 + CVE-2026-63286)r/netsec · 29 Oct 2026, 08:45 UTC
Technical details
- ID
- CVE-2026-63286
- CVSS
- 7.1 / 10
- EPSS
- 0.1% chance of exploitation within 30 days
- Disclosed
- 28 Oct 2026, 07:16 UTC
- On Zero Radar
- 28 Oct 2026, 07:18 UTC (2 min after disclosure)
- Last change
- 29 Oct 2026, 08:46 UTC
The plain-language parts and the attack diagram were written by an AI model (anthropic/claude-haiku-5.5) from the sources above. Facts like versions, exploitation and dates come from the sources themselves. How Zero Radar works