Zero Radar
← feed
CriticalVulnerabilityCVE-2026-76531updated 25 Oct 2026, 16:35 UTC

Cisco product can expose files or directories to outside parties

A Cisco product has files or folders that people outside should not be able to reach, and they may be able to read them. Anyone who can reach the product over a network could potentially look at data they should not see.

Partial fixOfficial, 2 sources
SeverityCriticalCVSS 9.9 of 10
Being exploited?UnclearNo reports either way yet
Fix available?PartlyA Cisco software hardening release addresses these vulnerabilities; specific fixed versions are not stated in the provided material. · since 25 Oct 2026
How sure is this?Official, 2 sourcesBacked by an official source

What happened

Cisco's internal review found multiple vulnerabilities, grouped under CWE-552, where files or directories are accessible to external parties. The affected Cisco product and versions are not named in the provided material.

Why it is dangerous: Exposed files can leak credentials, configuration, or other sensitive data, which may enable further attacks. The severity is rated critical (CVSS 9.9), so any organization running the affected Cisco product is at risk.

Are you affected?

You are affected if you run a Cisco product version covered by the security advisory for CVE-2026-76531 (GHSA-prj9-h2w8-2p78); the specific products and versions are unknown from the provided material.

What to do

  1. Check the Cisco security advisory for CVE-2026-76531 to identify affected products and versions
  2. Update affected Cisco products to the fixed hardening release named in the advisory
  3. Restrict external network access to the affected product until patched

Timeline

  1. 21 Oct 2026, 23:17 UTC
    Publicly disclosed
  2. 21 Oct 2026, 23:17 UTC
    Reported by NVD · NVD
  3. 25 Oct 2026, 16:35 UTC
    GitHub Advisory reported on it · GitHub Advisory
  4. 25 Oct 2026, 16:35 UTC
    Fix: A Cisco software hardening release addresses these vulnerabilities; specific fixed versions are not stated in the provided material.

Sources 2 reports, oldest first

Official vendor, government CERT or advisory database

Technical details

ID
CVE-2026-76531 · GHSA-prj9-h2w8-2p78
CVSS
9.9 / 10
EPSS
0.4% chance of exploitation within 30 days
Disclosed
21 Oct 2026, 23:17 UTC
On Zero Radar
before the radar started
Last change
25 Oct 2026, 16:35 UTC

The plain-language parts and the attack diagram were written by an AI model (anthropic/claude-haiku-5.5) from the sources above. Facts like versions, exploitation and dates come from the sources themselves. How Zero Radar works

Cisco product can expose files or directories to outside parties · Zero Radar